top of page

5 Tips to Prepare for Elective Surgery


My experience as a registered nurse has given me a lot of insight as to what people do before I wheel them into the operating theatres. It is really not that daunting when you are on the other end of the bedside but when it is your turn to go under the knife, it is really a different ball game.


As some of you know, I have suffered from endometriosis for as long as I can remember, and since having my children I knew the disease would alway come back, which meant I knew I would have to have surgery again. I guess what I am trying to say is that no matter the type of surgery you are having, it is always somewhat daunting knowing you are about to be in a very vulnerable position. I know I was extremely scared and anxious so I have written five tips that have helped me get through those first few days before my laparoscopy surgery.


#1 Talk It Out / Positive Affirmations


It is totally normal to express your feelings. You are aloud to express how you feel to someone you trust or who has been in a similar situation. For me, I have found talking to my husband, family, and friends have been extremely helpful. I am also very lucky I have nurse friends who I had confided in, with my fears of the procedure. The caring and empathetic nature of people when you open up might surprise you. I also suggest to really talk to yourself, it may sound silly but if you can convince yourself you are strong enough for this and you are doing it to gain a better quality of life! You are reminding yourself that life can be pain free. But remember no matter how invasive your surgery is, you are allowed to express your concerns and not made to feel weak about it.



#2 Write a timeline/check list


I recommend to have a timeline and hospital bag ready days leading up to the surgery. This will ensure that the day before the surgery you're not frantic or worrying you had forgotten something. I use the 'notes' app on my phone to remind me what I need to do/eat. It is important to also do this days prior incase you had any last minute concerns you want to speak to your surgeon about or if something didn't make sense to you.



#3 Occupy yourself


I personally have made myself busy the day of my surgery, watching my favourite shows or working. It is no joke, the amount of people I kept messaging asking them what's trending on Netflix at the moment! or even start brainstorming party planning ideas for your next event. This has helped my anxiety tremendously and given me purpose to recover quickly, so that I can be back and functional to care for my kids.


#4 Take a nap


As you will be very hungry the day leading up to your surgery. The only tip I have here, is that if you have time and are able to...Take a nap! this will make time go faster and closer to your surgery time. It's great to get some rest pre-op too, because hospitals are not the best place for sleep, even if you have a private room you will have a nurse come in to monitor you throughout the night. Enjoy your bed/couch and try to rest!


#5 List things to do Post-Op


When I listed things to do for the recovery phase I found it eased my anxiety. It gave me a bit of purpose of what I could look forward to when I woke up. Things like, continuing to plan my daughters birthday party, and watching series on Netflix was on my top to do list! But you do not have to do this you can pick from reading a book you have always wanted to read- to working on puzzles while in bed, listening to podcasts. Anything that you will enjoy! but please don't work if it causes more stress. It's best to put it to the side for a day or two when you're in a better head space. Organising family or friends to visit when you're at home might also be a nice distraction and get you motivated to get up and out of bed.




50 views0 comments
bottom of page